What is the law on the right of way to pedestrians in Oregon? What is the basic rule? Here are some answers we got to the questions in the Oregon Driver’s manual.
1. When do you have to yield the right of way to pedestrians in Oregon?
-When a pedestrian is crossing with a green light or WALK signal, or when the pedestrian has not cleared the crosswalk. You must give pedestrians the right away as soon as they step off of the curb.
-In a marked or unmarked crosswalk at an intersection with no traffic control devices, when the pedestrian is on your half of the road or so close that he or she is in a dangerous position
-When you cross a sidewalk, like when entering or leaving an alley, driveway or private road
-When you are making a left or right turn at any intersection, as soon as pedestrians step off of the curb
-When you are at a school crossing where there is a traffic patrol
Here is the statute on right of way for pedestrians in OR
2. How old must you be to obtain a Class C provisional license?
16 years old
3. Driving is a _________ you must earn, not a right.
4. What is the minimum age for an identification card?
There is no minimum age
5. What penalties may you face by providing false information on your application to DMV for a license or permit?
Maximum fine of $2,500, a year in prison, or both
1. What is the basic rule?
You must drive at a speed that is reasonable and safe at all times
2. Name three locations where you cannot park?
-On the road or street side of any parked vehicle
-In a tunnel
-On a sidewalk
-On or within 15 feet of railroad tracks
-Within an intersection
-On a throughway where access is controlled
-On a crosswalk
-In a bicycle lane
-Between separate roads of a divided highway, including crossovers
-Between a safety zone and the nearby curb
-Alongside or opposite a street excavation or obstruction, if parking would interfere with traffic
-On a bridge or overpass
-At any place where official signs or pavement markings don’t allow parking
3. Use you turn signal at least __ feet away from the turn or lane change.
4. What may happen if you abandon your vehicle on the highway?
Police may have your car towed and they may issue you a ticket
5. When must a “SLOW MOVING VEHICLE” sign be mounted on a vehicle?
When a vehicle travels at or below 25 mph
1. What is the single most common cause of traffic crashes in Oregon?
2. What is a “space cushion?”
The space a driver leaves between their car and the cars around them
3. How many seconds ahead do expert drivers scan the entire driving scene?
4. When must headlights be turned on?
Between sunset and sunrise and when conditions make it hard to see people or cars 1,000 feet ahead
1. What type of vehicles can you drive with a Class C license?
Any vehicle with a loaded weight that is not more than 26,000 lbs. or has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more than 26,000 lbs., except for motorcycles. You can drive mopeds, passenger cars, vans, pickups and panels. You can also drive any vehicle that is designed to carry up to 16 passengers, a recreational vehicle like motor homes, campers and travel trailers, and any fire or emergency vehicle
2. What are four common errors that could cause you to strike a bicycle rider in Oregon?
-Turning left without noticing an oncoming bicyclist
-Turning right at an intersection or driveway without checking for a bicyclist on the right
-Entering or crossing a street without checking for a bicyclist in the street or on a sidewalk
-Opening a vehicle door into the path of a bicyclist
3. What is the bicycle helmet law?
In Oregon, anyone who is under the age of 16 is required to wear approved headgear when riding a bike
4.What does it mean when you see amber lights flashing near the top of a school bus?
That the bus is going to stop to load or unload children
1. What effect does alcohol have on your ability to drive a vehicle?
Your vision is affected, your reaction time is slowed, your coordination is impaired, your judgment is weakened
2. What does the “Implied Consent Law” mean?
By driving a motor vehicle you have implied that you will consent to a breath, blood or urine test if a police officer asks you to
3. If you are convicted of a first DUI, how long will your driving privileges be suspended?
Your driving privileges will be suspended for one year. If you are under 18 years old, your license will be taken away until you are 18.
4. What will happen to your driving privileges if you crash and you do not have liability insurance?
Your driving privileges will be suspended for one year
1. When must a driver wear a safety belt?
It is mandatory for all drivers and passengers to wear safety belts in all available seating positions when the vehicle is moving
2. At what distance must you dim your headlights for an approaching vehicle?
500 feet or 350 feet behind a vehicle
3. A vehicle must have a working horn you can hear for how many feet?
4. Is aftermarket window tinting legal in Oregon?
To the side and rear windows if the material has a light transmittance of 50% or more; has a light reflectance of 13% or less; and the total light transmittance of the window with the tinted material applied 35% or more
Think you have a case?
I want to help you get all the money you deserve for your accident, so please begin by filling out this short form.
Please specify whether the accident took place in Oregon or Washington state, and give some brief details in the comments.
After sending the form, you’ll be taken to a second page where if you wish, you can share all the details in one convenient place.
Once I see your information, I’ll get back to you as quickly as I can. Or better yet, call me at 503-280-0888 now.