Victims: Minor Car Accidents Can Cause Serious Injuries Your Doctor
May Not Be Trained To Treat!"
In the opinion of our lead Portland Oregon and Vancouver Washington Car
Accident Attorney, Todd Peterson it is best to:
Move to a safe area and ask someone to call for the police and medical
help. Do not admit fault or say you're "ok", even though this
might be the natural polite thing to say, but do remain as calm and
polite as possible. Do not discuss the collision with anyone, except
the police, your lawyer, your family or your own insurer. Get all the
information you need to make a claim right away. See our car accident
2. File a car accident
report form. Oregon state law requires that you file a car accident
report from within 72 hours if you are injured or have over $1500 in
vehicle damage. The Oregon DMV has a new car accident report form as of
2004. Read what the Oregon
DMV has to say about car accident report forms and responsibilities.
3.Do not give a statement
to the other driver or insurer. Do, however, notify
your insurance company of the accident. Photograph visible injuries
and property damage to your car. Document names, addresses, telephone
and license number of persons involved and of witnesses.
4. If you feel injured, get medical attention right away to document that your injuries are
related to the car accident.
5. Request a PIP form from your insurer. Keep an injury diary on your calendar.
get the most money, make sure you contact Todd